The IPN’s "Custodian of National Memory" prize. Applications may be submitted until 24 March 2021

The Institute of National Remembrance would like to encourage private persons, institutions and organizations to submit their nominations for the IPN’s Custodian of National Memory Prize.

  • The "Custodian of National Memory" prize
    The "Custodian of National Memory" prize


The "Custodian of National Memory" prize is granted to individuals, as well as to institutions and social organizations for their particularly active participation in the commemoration of the history of the Polish Nation in the years 1939-1989, and for public activity coinciding with the statutory objectives of the Institute of National Remembrance. The laureates are selected by a panel headed by the President of the Institute of National Remembrance.

The prize is awarded to  private persons, institutions or organizations. As of 2012, one of the five distinctions can be awarded posthumously, which allows the Institute to express its gratitude and recognition to those who are no longer with us. The prize is honorary and its laureates receive the title of Custodian of National Memory.

In 2021, the prize will be awarded for the twentieth time.

If you would like to nominate a candidate for the prize, please fill in the online form below:

Application form

Nominations may be submitted until 24 March 2021. When nominating a candidate please be sure to also send their consent to data processing (also available online) to the following address:


The previous prize winners were: Tomasz Strzembosz (2002), Władysław Bartoszewski (2004), Zofia and Zbigniew Romaszewscy (2006), Zofia and Andrzej Pileccy (2015), the late President of the Republic of Poland in Exile Ryszard Kaczorowski (2019), the Katyn Committee (2010), Społeczny Komitet Pamięci Górników KWK „Wujek” w Katowicach (2011), the „Memoriał” Association (2012) and the Polish Museum in  Rapperswil (2015).

The full list of laureates is availible at :

 The laureates of the Custodian of National Memory Prize

For more information, please contact:

Piotr Sieczkowski
phone: (22) 581 85 53

Anna Bocian
phone:(22) 581 87 28



go up