IPN shortcuts

Add link

International Responses to the IPN’s Educational Publication

Miniaturka

 

The announcement that the historical and educational board game “The Queue” will be launched stirred attention not only at home but also abroad. Media in more than 150 countries wrote about the educational publication of the Institute of National Remembrance.

Within couple of days the information about “The Queue” appeared on several dozen thousands internet websites, radio stations and in press. Such global information services as BBC, CNN, Fox News and Associated Press paid attention to it. The commentators stressed the innovative educational approach applied by means of board game (in the USA the reports about “The Queue” were often entitled “A History Lesson in a Box”). Among English-language comments there were those of teachers who kindly requested to have “The Queue” published in other languages.
 

“The Queue” Educational and Historical Board Game
Author: Karol Madaj
Cooperation: Aleksandra Sulej
Graphic design: Natalia Baranowska, Marta Malesińska
Scientific consultation and historical introduction: Andrzej Zawistowski, PhD
Reviewer: Małgorzata Mazurek, PhD (Zentrum für Zeithistorische Forschung, Potsdam)
 

Video:

http://polygamia.pl/Polygamia/12,95387,9007302,Stac_w_Kolejce_dla_zabawy.html?bo=1http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vZCMuLwDYE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P3p3QH3rnKM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G4B_zpW53m0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D7DZ-bx8tQU

http://www.tvnwarszawa.pl/rytm-miasta,news,caly-swiat-zagra-w-quot-kolejke-quot-,59164.html

http://dziendobrytvn.plejada.pl/24,43606,wideo,,236382,projekt_instytutu_pamieci_narodowej,aktualnosci_detal.html

http://dziendobrytvn.plejada.pl/24,43606,wideo,,236386,projekt_instytutu_pamieci_narodowej,aktualnosci_detal.html

Selected Foreign Language Articles:

2 Chanel Days (Japan): http://2chdays.net/read/moeplus/1296040317.html

2 Space (Belgium): http://www.2space.net/news/article/332246-1295965803/

 ABC News (USA): http://abcnews.go.com/meta/search/imageDetail?format=plain&source=http%3A%2F%2Fabcnews.go.com%2Fimages%2FInternational%2F8f17f0e7d46f437086779d814bea7ad0

Aktualno.hr (Croatia): http://aktualno.hr/novosti/16726_Zaigrajte+komunisticki+monopol.html

Alo! (Serbia): http://www.alo.rs/vesti/35019/Komunisticki_monopol_novi_hit

BBC (United Kingdom): http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-12380433

Bloomberg (USA): http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-01-25/polish-board-game-recalls-communist-hardship.html

Bombahir (Hungary): http://bombahir.hu/europa/alljon-sorban-on-is-most-az-egesz-csalad-reszere

Breaking Christian News (USA): http://www.breakingchristiannews.com/articles/display_art.html?ID=8621

Calgary Herald (Canada): http://www.calgaryherald.com/life/Board+game+remind+Poles+hardships+under+communism/4149661/story.html

CBS News (USA): http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2011/01/25/ap/world/main7281131.shtml

ChicagoSun Times (USA): http://www.suntimes.com/news/world/3486598-418/game-communist-players-poland-board.html

CNN Expansion (USA): http://www.cnnexpansion.com/economia-insolita/2011/01/25/polonia-comunismo-juego-mesa-expansion

Metro (United Kingdom): http://www.metro.co.uk/weird/853338-communist-monopoly-queue-hits-poland

The Market Financial (USA): http://www.themarketfinancial.com/communist-monopoly/123645

CTV News (Canada): http://www.ctv.ca/generic/generated/static/business/article1881020.html

Businessweek (USA): http://www.businessweek.com/ap/financialnews/D9KVFGQ00.htm

El Pais (Uruguay): http://www.elpais.com.uy/suplemento/ds/la-tierra-gira-y-gira/sds_543893_110130.html

Extra (Brazil): http://extra.globo.com/noticias/bizarro/poloneses-criambanco-imobiliario-comunista-908875.html

Hamburger Adendblatt (Germany): http://www.abendblatt.de/vermischtes/kolumne/article1769305/Schlange-stehen-in-der-Schlossallee.html

Okezone (Indonesja): http://international.okezone.com/read/2011/01/24/214/417183/komunisme-menguasai-permainan-monopoli

Diario Digital (Portugal): http://diariodigital.sapo.pt/news.asp?section_id=13&id_news=489689

Mondo (Serbia): http://www.mondo.rs/s195447/Jeste_li_za_partiju_komunistickog_Monopola.html

Kisalfold (Hungary): http://www.kisalfold.hu/kitekinto/a_vecepapirert_is_sorba_kell_allni_a_szocialista_monopolyban/2200426/

Corriere della Sera (Italy): http://www.corriere.it/notizie-ultima-ora/Esteri/Polonia-arriva-Monopoli-amarcord/31-01-2011/1-A_000171892.shtml

Daily India (India): http://www.merit-times.com.tw/image/epaper/epaper_20110124.jpg

Daily Mail (United Kingdom): http://dailymail.com/ap/ApEntertainment/201101280603

Daily Me (USA): http://dailyme.com/gallery/entertainment/whats-your-number.html

Daily Telegrach (United Kingdom): http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/poland/8274246/Poles-design-worlds-most-boring-game.html

Der Spiegel (Germany): http://www.spiegel.de/international/zeitgeist/0,1518,740587,00.html

Deutsche Welle (Germany): http://www.dw-world.de/dw/article/0,,14816992,00.html

Ekstrablad (Denmark): Dania: http://ekstrabladet.dk/ferie/udland/article1492990.ece

El Diario de Coahuila (Mexico): http://www.eldiariodecoahuila.com.mx/notas/2011/1/25/internacional-215120.asp

EL Porveni (Mexico): http://www.elporvenir.mx/notas.asp?nota_id=465187

El Universal (Venezuela) http://deportes.eluniversal.com/2011/01/25/int_ava_polacos-recuerdan-la_25A5042211.shtml

Elu 24 (Estonia): http://www.elu24.ee/?id=376993

Ethailand (Thailand): http://www.ethailand.com/news/game-recalls-tough-times-70579.html

Europu Vaktin (Island): http://evropuvaktin.is/frettir/17641/

Excite (Japan): http://www.excite.co.jp/News/game/20110125/Narinari_20110125_14935.html

Fire Pigeon (Portugal): http://firepigeon.wordpress.com/2011/02/02/na-bicha/

Forbes (USA): http://billionaires.forbes.com/article/02G36v05pn1W5?q=billionaire+OR+billionaires+OR+billionaire's

Fox News (USA) http://www.foxnews.com/world/2011/01/25/polish-board-game-recalls-communist-hardship/#

Frontierenews (Italy): http://frontierenews.it/2011/01/polonia-in-vendita-la-versione-comunista-del-

Funbox (Croatia): http://www.tportal.hr/funbox/funtime/107953/Komunisticka-verzija-Monopolyja-osvaja-Poljsku.html

Gazzetta di Parma (Italy): http://www.gazzettadiparma.it/primapagina/dettaglio/7/72748/Polonia:_arriva_il_&rsquo%3BMonopoli&rsquo%3B_amarcord.index.html

Gree (Japan): http://news.gree.jp/news/entry/621218?gssid=6133b3f1c352095924a81d038ec14f9b

Huffington Post (USA): http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/01/26/line-polish-board-game-re_n_814177.html

Il Nuovo (Italy): http://www.ilnuovo.it/articolo-20110131-Polonia%253A_arriva_%2527Monopoli%2527_amarcord.php

In Stera (Greece): http://www.insterea.gr/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=3302:monopoly-&catid=182:2010-09-03-10-54-09&Itemid=207

News Beast (Greece): http://www.newsbeast.gr/world/arthro/113276/monopoly-ala-kommounistika/

Jeux sur un Plateau (France): http://www.jeuxsurunplateau.com/fr/news/jeux/rationnement-ludique-en-pologne~31~11~i850~m20.html

Kanał 2 (Estonia): http://kanal2.ee/news/article/Poolas-valmis-lauamangu-Monopol-kommunistlik-variant

La Tribunede Geneve (Switzerland): http://www.tdg.ch/pologne-lance-monopoly-communiste-2011-01-26

Leader Post (Canada): http://www.leaderpost.com/life/Bored+game+remind+Poles+communist+rule/4146239/story.html

Los AngelesTimes (USA): http://www.latimes.com/news/nationworld/wire/sns-ap-eu-poland-communism-game,0,7599254.story

Melibee (USA): http://melibeeglobal.com/2011/01/kolejka-an-educational-board-game-about-communism/

The Best (Greece): http://www.thebest.gr/news/index/viewStory/50985

Merit Times (Taiwan): http://www.merit-times.com.tw/image/epaper/epaper_20110124.jpgmonopoli/

MSNBC http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/41250677/ns/world_news-europe/

My San Antonio (USA): http://www.mysanantonio.com/news/article/Polish-board-game-recalls-communist-hardship-976008.php

Narini (Japan): http://www.narinari.com/Nd/20110114935.html

Nasha (Latvia, Russian language portal): http://www.nasha.lv/rus/blog/blog-sections/news/31602.html

Naslovi (Serbia): http://www.naslovi.net/tv-program/

National Public Radio (USA): http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=133207659

New Post (Greece): http://www.newpost.gr/Kosmos/item/18058-%CE%97-Monopoly-%CF%83%CE%B5-%E2%80%9C%CE%BA%CF%8C%CE%BA%CE%BA%CE%B9%CE%BD%CE%B7%E2%80%9D-%CE%B5%CE%BA%CE%B4%CE%BF%CF%87%CE%AE?tmpl=component&print=1

iNews (Greece): http://www.inews.gr/96/o-kommounismos-ginetai-epitrapezio-paichnidi.htm

News Observer (USA): http://www.newsobserver.com/2011/01/25/943327/polish-board-game-recalls-communist.html

News.com (Australia): http://www.news.com.au/entertainment/celebrity/is-this-the-worlds-most-boring-board-game/story-e6frfmqi-1225997819774

Nieuwsblad (Belgium) http://www.nieuwsblad.be/article/detail.aspx?articleid=DMF20110125_100

Oriental Daily (China): http://orientaldaily.on.cc/cnt/china_world/20110123/00180_022.html

Novinite (Bulgaria): http://www.novinite.com/view_news.php?id=124454

Austrian Times (Austria); http://austriantimes.at/news/Around_the_World/2011-01-21/29927/Monopol-ski%3A_Communist_board_Game_

The Polijam Times (USA): http://www.polijam.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=52219:polish-game-teaches-about-queuing&catid=76:odd&Itemid=57

The Province (Canada): http://www.theprovince.com/life/Bored+game+remind+Poles+communist+rule/4146239/story.html

The Gazzete (Canada): http://www.montrealgazette.com/life/Bored+game+remind+Poles+communist+rule/4146239/story.html

Dalje (Croatia): http://dalje.com/en-world/polish-game-teaches-about-queuing/334608

The Edmonton Journal (Canada): http://www.edmontonjournal.com/life/Bored+game+remind+Poles+communist+rule/4146239/story.html

Times Colonist (Canada): http://www.timescolonist.com/life/Bored+game+remind+Poles+communist+rule/4146239/story.html

Paper Blog (France): http://www.paperblog.fr/4069503/le-monopoly-communiste-polonais/

Prawda (Russia): http://www.pravda.ru/news/world/21-01-2011/1064313-igra-0/

Publika (Moldova): http://ru.publika.md/link_98241.html

Publimetro (Chile) http://www.publimetro.cl/nota/mundo/juego-de-mesa-recuerda-carestia-bajo-el-comunismo-en-polonia/Etzkay!lr80iaMtUldg0Y1C5FbkXw/

Queedit (Austria): http://www.quedit.com/detail/new-board-game-teaches-polish-kids-about-hardships-of-communism-5313267.html

Radio Numbero One (Italy): http://www.radionumberone.tv/wordpress/?p=1009

Radio Srebrenik (Bosnia and Hercegovina): http://www.radiosrebrenik.ba/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=585:komunistiki-monopol-ui-igrae-skromnosti-i-strpljenju&catid=37:zanimljivosti

Richmind Times-Dispatch (USA): http://www2.timesdispatch.com/news/2011/jan/26/TDMAIN02-board-game-recalls-hardships-ar-800017/

RTFB (Belgium): http://www.rtbf.be/info/societe/histoire/un-monopoly-communiste-debarque-en-pologne-298129

SeatlePi (USA): http://www.seattlepi.com/national/1103ap_eu_poland_communism_game.html

Sify News (India): http://www.sify.com/news/communist-monopoly-played-with-bread-loo-paper-news-others-lbwradggjfb.html

Slate (France) http://www.slate.fr/lien/33087/monopoly-communiste-pologne-in-poland

SMBC (Japan): http://smcb.jp/snews/106728

Sportdog (Greece): http://www.sportdog.gr/article/8448/monopoly-gia-kommounistes

Stop (Hungary): http://www.stop.hu/articles/article.php?id=813182

Sutra (Bosnia and Hercegovina): http://www.sutra.ba/novost/25471/Komunistiki-monopol-ui-igrae-skromnosti-i-strpljenju

Taiwan News (Taiwan): http://www.taiwannews.com.tw/etn/news_content.php?id=1496472&lang=eng_news

Telemetro (Panama): http://www.telemetro.com/insolito/2011/01/25/nota65793.html

Telewizja Antena 3 (Romania): http://www.antena3.ro/externe/polonezii-au-lansat-o-varianta-comunista-a-jocului-monopoly-117124.html

Telewizja Państwowa (Belarus) http://ont.by/news/daidzest?un=827

Tempo Internasional (Thailand): http://tempointeraktif.com/hg/oops/2011/01/23/brk,20110123-308268,id.html

Terra (Peru) http://noticias.terra.com.pe/internacional/europa/juego-de-mesa-recuerda-carestia-bajo-el-comunismo-en-polonia,d9d80b8d74ebd210VgnVCM3000009af154d0RCRD.html

The Age (Australia): http://www.theage.com.au/world/twist-on-monopoly-puts-the-bored-into-board-game-20110122-1a0kj.html

Croatian Times (Croatia): http://www.croatiantimes.com/news/Around_the_World/2011-01-21/16597/Monopol-ski%3A_Communist_board_Game_

The Vancouver Sun (Canada): http://www.vancouversun.com/life/Bored+game+remind+Poles+communist+rule/4146239/story.html

The Windsor Star(Canada): http://www.windsorstar.com/life/Bored+game+remind+Poles+communist+rule/4146239/story.html

Brisbane Times (Australia): http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/world/queue-just-like-the-poles-did-20110123-1a18z.html

The Australian (Australia): http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/world/queue-game-targets-polish-kids/story-e6frg6so-1226003242697

The Bangkok Post (Thailand): http://bangkokpost.co.th/lifestyle/family/218665/game-recalls-tough-times

The Boston Globe (USA): http://www.boston.com/news/world/europe/articles/2011/01/26/polish_game_evokes_regimes_hardships/

The Brunei Times (Brunei) http://www.bt.com.bn/art-culture/2011/02/12/polish-game-recreates-communist-shopping

The Globe and Mail (Canada): http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/economy/economy-lab/daily-mix/call-it-soviet-era-monopoly-200-for-passing-go-nyet/article1881020/

The Malaysian News (Malaysia): http://www.malaysianews.net/story.php?rid=42779914

The Namibina (Namibia): http://www.namibian.com.na/news/world/full-story/archive/2011/january/article/polish-

The Scotsman (United Kingdom): http://news.scotsman.com/world/Poland-Join-the-queue-for.6702160.jp

The Star (Canada): http://www.thestar.com/news/world/article/927720--players-buy-shoes-food-in-communism-board-game#article

The Star Phoenix (Canada): http://www.thestarphoenix.com/life/Bored+game+remind+Poles+communist+rule/4148256/story.html

The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia): http://www.smh.com.au/world/queue-just-like-the-poles-did-20110123-1a18z.html

The Washington Post (USA): http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2011/01/25/AR2011012501944.html

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2011/01/31/AR2011013104686.html

The Sun (United Kingdom): http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3364493/New-Communist-Monopoly-game.html

The Times (United Kingdom): http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/public/sitesearch.do?querystring=kolejka&p=tto&pf=all&bl=on

Ukiwired (USA): http://www.wirednews.us/news.php/128799-Polish-game-recreates-communist-shopping-hell

Vijesti (Bosnia and Hercegovina): http://www.vijesti.nl/?p=37557

WA Today (Australia): http://www.watoday.com.au/world/twist-on-monopoly-puts-the-bored-into-board-game-20110122-1a0kj.html

Wicked Magazine (USA): http://www.wickedmagazine.org/2011/01/juego-de-mesa-recuerda-carestia-bajo-el.html

Ziaru de iasi (Romania): http://www.ziaruldeiasi.ro/mozaic/o-versiune-comunista-a-jocului-monopoly-lansata-in-polonia~ni702g